Semester Portfolio

The coil bowl is my favorite piece because I felt that I had spent more time on it then the others. It took a while for me to master coiling. While creating the bowl, I had issues with the technique, mainly because the lips and sides of my bowl were weak and unstable. Another issue that I faced was keeping the lips at a even point. I also had to deal with many cracks, especially when the lips and sides of the bowl would tear apart because of the lack of support. After facing all these challenges, it was pleasing when I was able to apply enough clay to create strong lips and strong foundations. I was also pleased with the embellishment; adding squares around the side of the bowl. I was also pleased with the color choices I used. The blue in the cracks from the squares, the yellow spots in the middle of the squares, and the orange around the entire bowl gives a warm color that is pleasing to the eye. I felt like this project had a lot of challenges and required me to use the methods of pinching and coiling to complete the bowl and learn the new skill.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *