Blog Post 7: Artist Communicate

When making the artwork “Couch Potato”, I created a couch to represent the meaning of the idiom, which is laziness. I used slab building to create the form of the couch by connecting two slabs together and then using clay to form couch cushions. Then, I added arm rests to each side of the couch with a lot of clay. Finally, I made a spherical clay form to use it as a potato. Creating the couch and the potato serves to communicate laziness. Other members of my group suggested that I make the slabs smaller to make the couch a normal size couch instead of making it too big and unable to be qualified as a couch. They also suggested that I create the potato to complete the idiom representation and to further express the idea of laziness. A person also recommended that I carve out space from the bottom of the artwork to make it more hallow. I accomplished this with the loop tool.  The potato expresses laziness because it is an object that does not move or do anything; The couch expresses laziness because it is a household object that is used when people want to be lazy or want to rest. These elements represent the main image of laziness that the idiom wants to established.

 

This was the final form of the couch and the potato.

 

Using slab building, I was able to create the form of the couch. Then, I formed the couch cushion from clay.

 

Using the loop tool allowed me to make the sides of the couch hollow.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *